Knocking off a Valentino

Standard

   So, I found this gorgeous blue sweater online. It’s a Valentino and the price was $2290. I don’t know about you, but I certainly could never afford that much for a sweater. So I decided to make my own!
Butterick 5313 was the perfect place to start!

  I liked the lower neckline of the butterick so didn’t try to bring it up like the Valentino. The Butterick had the perfect depth in the neckline for me. Higher necklines tend to over-emphasis my bust and off balance me.    Secondly, my version had to be pink. Because, well, I’m me. And I do love pink. 
  Alterations made to the pattern:

Added 8 inches to the sleeves, I like a long sleeve on a sweater, so I can pull my hands in if I get cold.

Omitted the skirt panel so it would be the perfect length.

Cut the upper front and lower front as one piece. 

Cut the upper back and lower back as one piece.

Drafted in the little shoulder insets, cut the sweater bit to just above the lengthen / shorten here line, cut the rest as lace. I love how it turned out! My version was under 20 dollars. The lace was a remnant in the remnant bin at Joann’s and the sweater knit was a red tag clearance, on half price, also at Joann’s.
If I were to make it again, I would size up the back piece a bit. My lace doesn’t stretch, the pattern is for a knit, makes for a bit of a squeeze to get into it. But it wears nicely and keeps me warm! Even though the back is very open, it’s polyester, so it doesn’t breathe and I retain heat easily in this sweater

Until next time!

One thought on “Knocking off a Valentino

Leave a Reply

