I love to sew

Standard

I love sewing. Honestly, there is nothing like that feeling of accomplishment when you finish that dress, skirt, quilt, pillow, whatever it is you made.

I love when I get a compliment and can go ‘oh, I made that.’ The look of wonder with the inevitable ‘you made that?!?’ I just love it!

I used to get teased, ‘why don’t you just buy it?’ But not anymore. Everyone in my life knows of my passion now, and accepts it.

I remember when I asked for my first sewing machine, I was 16. No one thought I would actually use it so I ended up with a rinky dink 100 dollar machine from Sears.

I wore out the engine I sewed too much! I now have three machines, a serger, a battery powered ‘on the go’ machine, and a fairly nice standard machine.

They all see far too much wear! I wouldn’t have it any other way!

This week I am working on a quilt, nothing spectacular and fancy, just a pink and purple thing for my daughter.

20140121-132340.jpg
I’ve been plugging away at the blocks, very simple ones, but time consuming none the less. I think it would be much easier if the little bear didn’t demand to be held every five blocks or so.

20140121-132348.jpg

I hope to finish this quilt (at least the top) by Sunday. Then I get to pick another project!

I’ve got this insane goal to whittle down my fabric stash… Sooo I have many things to make!

Leave a Reply

